Pumpkin Flower Arrangement

Autumn is by far my favorite season. I love the cooler weather, breaking out favorite fall jackets,  celebrating fall holidays, and spotting pumpkin items everywhere. Pumpkin lattes, pumpkin creamer, pumpkin beer,  pumpkin bread, and of course the real deal pumpkins.

Last year Brian and I traveled to a pumpkin patch in Middletown, Maryland called Jumbos.  We went on a hayride or two, successfully made our way through a corn maze, picked the perfect pumpkin, and almost fought a couple mean alpacas.

If you ever have an encounter with an alpaca don’t let their soft appearance fool you. They’re super temperamental. I almost had my shin taken out by one when he tried to kick me! Jerk. Lucky for me he missed and my leg was spared.  He couldn’t stop whining after though and kept making this noise close to a, “Meeeehhhhhh!” Whinny, kicking jerk.

pumpkin patch collage

pumpkin fun

This year we didn’t make it to a pumpkin patch, but I didn’t let that kill my pumpkin creativity. I was inspired by Cupcakes and Cashmere’s  pumpkin wildflower bouquet and decided to craft my own.

I began by cutting a large enough hole in the top of the pumpkin to fit a bowl inside and then brutally gutted its insides (sorry pumpkin). Once I massacred the innocent pumpkin, I placed a bowl inside, and filled it water to keep my flowers fresh. I filled my pumpkin with an assortment of flowers found at a local gourmet grocery store, other wise known as Safeway.

This makes a great center piece and instantly brings a touch of Autumn into your home.

pumpkin_carving

Make sure to keep the pumpkin seeds. They make a delicious, easy, Fall snack.

  • Rinse the seeds with water
  • Place these babies on a cookie sheet
  • Sprinkle a little salt and olive oil
  • Bake them in the oven at 325 degrees for 25 minutes. Make sure to stir them around a couple times while baking so they don’t burn

Presto! Roasted pumpkin seeds!

wildflowers

pumpkin flower arrangement

Leave a comment

Filed under Autumn, DIY Projects, Washington D.C.

Leave a Reply

