Easter Lollipop Cupcakes

For Easter brunch this year, I wanted to make some EASY but fun cupcakes. I mean I love spending an hour browsing around on pinterest, day dreaming about the extravagant cupcakes I plan to bake but let’s get real…I’m not gonna make sheep cupcakes with a barn cake to match. Okay, maybe I would if I didn’t have a job.  I seriously think those people hire elves to secretly work on all their pinterest crafts day in and day out.

So instead I sought out the master of all things holiday related, Martha Stewart.  Of course, I knew my cupcakes would be better than hers because my highly successful cooking empire is worth $971 million, not a measly $970 mil.

I adapted her recipe because Giant and Target both had a small selection of sprinkles.  So instead of sprinkles I dyed the frosting (and myself). I went to church the next day with blue dye still on my hands…good thing I had an apron (thanks Jenny).

laffy taffy

What you’ll need:

  • Cupcake mix of your choice (and the ingredients written on the box).
  • 2 cans of buttercream vanilla frosting. You could probably get by with one, but I like a lot of frosting.
  • Lollipops.
  • Food coloring of your choice.
  • Green Laffy Taffy.
  • A frosting kit– I bought the 12 piece Wilton cupcake decorating kit at Target for $9. It even has instructions how to make different frosting designs.
  • Something to roll the Laffy Taffy.  A rolling pin is preferable…If you’re ghetto like me,  a can of peas.
  • Scissors to cut the petals.

Flower lollipops

Steps:

  • Bake the cupcakes and let them cool.
  • Dye the frosting. I dyed one can purple and the other blue.
  • Roll out the taffy and cut into petals.
  • Frost the lollipops using your decorating set.
  • Frost the cupcakes.
  • Place the lollipops and taffy petals on the cupcake.

Ta Da! Bright, springtime cupcakes perfect for Easter brunch!

easter lollipop cupcakes

If you like this post, you might like this one too:

Leave a comment

Filed under Recipes

Leave a Reply

