Mizuno Wave Rider Shoe Commitment

Yep, it happened. I’m in a committed running shoe relationship. It slowly snuck up on me, but as you can see, I’ve gotta thing for Mizuno Wave Riders. I haven’t exactly kept track of how many I’ve bought in the last couple years, but I believe I’m on my sixth pair. We’ve steadily made it through many good runs, bad runs, and attempts at runs. Each time I return to the running store, I’ve renewed my devotion to this shoe and bought yet another pair without a second thought. Why mess with a good thing, right?

Mizuno Running Shoes

Much like every other item in this present day, every few months there seems to be a new version of the Wave Rider. The most current shoe is presently the Mizuno Wave Rider 15.  At about $115 a pop, I’ve spent around $700+ on these babies. And they’re worth every darn penny.

This time around though, I decided to get thrifty and searched for the previous Wave Rider, the 14’s. I’m a sucker for a neon colored running shoe, so I had to pry myself away from these puppies (one version of the new 15’s).

Mizuno Wave Rider

I found a pair of 14’s on Holabird Sports for only $56! They arrived only 2 days later with an extra bonus, a 5 hr energy! Mad props Holabird, you know the way to my heart.  I know my new Mizuno’s aren’t as cool as the neon yellow wave riders, but I still love them and they work! Already tested them out on one treadmill run. Side tip: If you buy a pair of running shoes always test them out on one treadmill run first. If you’re not happy, most running stores will let you return them.

mizuno wave rider 14

So if you find yourself in a committed shoe relationship like me, I suggest saving some moola and buy the oldie-but-goodie model online (and get hyped up on 5 hour energy).

Wondering when to replace your shoes?

My rule of thumb for replacing my shoes is very scientific. Are you ready? When my knees start to hurt, I replace my shoes. While this tactic has worked in the past, with a few running injuries this year, I’m determined to also track my shoes’ mileage (and use my Garmin Forerunner 405cx more!). Hopefully this will help to avoid more injuries. If you don’t have a Garmin, Active Trainer easily allows you to track your mileage.

The word on the runspert street is you should replace your shoes every 300-500 miles. This will vary from person to person. For example a smaller runner with a neutral gait may run 500 miles, while taller, heavier runner may need to replace closer to 300.

running shoe mileage

Some other running shoe tips:

  • To extend the life of your shoes, have more than one pair of running shoes.  Alternate your runs between the two pairs.
  • Only run in your running shoes. Wearing your running shoes to work or for your daily routine, can quickly break them down. Yet,  one more reason to not wear your running shoes with your business suit.
  • Have a gait analysis done.  Many running shoe stores offer running gait analysis as a service. That’s how I picked the Mizuno’s! If you’re from the DC area, Pacers runsperts are very helpful!

Happy Running Amigos! 

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness

Leave a Reply

