Tough Mudder Training

Tough Mudder is becoming more and more of a reality with each passing day.  After my trip to Peru (I promise to blog about it soon), I’ve been trying to get back into the grove of working out again. Luckily with all our walking and hiking I’m not too out of shape.
 
I know Tough Mudder is gonna be extremely challenging. Running 10-12 miles alone is hard, but add extreme obstacles and challenges and that’s just the barb-wired cherry on top. I’ve signed up for two other shorter mud runs to help motivate myself and get a taste of what to expect on Tough Mudder “Race”  Day.
 
Side Note: I’m not supposed to call it a race, because it officially isn’t, although  the fastest mudders advance to compete in the World’s Toughest Mudder…sounds like a race to me…just sayin’.  The World’s Toughest Mudder is about 10 mile course that you complete as many times as possible in a 24 hour period. The winner did it 7 times in 24 hours! Insaaannne!
 
This weekend I am running the five mile Henricus Dauber Dash in my hometown, Richmond Virginia. Woop woop!  It’s not Tough Mudder, but it ain’t no walk in the park either.
 
Here are some of the obstacles I’ll be up against this weekend:
  1. The Wattle Wall: Wall of hay bales
  2. The Vulture Scuttle: High Stepper
  3. The Rolfe Rampage: Mud Pit
  4. Sir Thomas Dale’s Dip: Run through the James
  5. The Pocahontas Picnic Pounce: Picnic table climb
  6. Graveyard Crawl: Army Crawl
  7. The Lagoon Lap: Run through lagoon
  8. Mt. Malady’s climb: Run on the rocky ridge
  9. Henricus Hill: Hill Climb
  10. Cypress Point Sink Hole: Muck through the channel
  11. The Wattle Wall: Wall of hay bales
  12. Buttercup’s Mud Pit: Mud Pit
I’m signed up in the fastest heat, the Mud Racers which are expected to run  8 minute miles or faster with obstacles. I’m feeling as if that’s a little ambitious for my post vacay body, but wish me luck. If anything, I know this race will be fun and a possible reality check :).
 
During the week, thanks to my badass Tough Mudder Coach, I’ve been incorporating some strength work outs into my training regimen. Dale, being the awesome person he is, organizes group work outs for our team each week. His exercise sessions are based off of his own experience with CrossFit work-outs. They’re quick and about as far away from easy as possible. These workouts are much like what I imagine Tough Mudder  will be like, awesome and slightly scary at the same time. I’m the first to admit…I would never. NEVER. do these on my own. So I’m definitely grateful Dale’s helping me to avoid dying on dooms day.
 
I’ve also been going to one morning body pump class with my former swimming buddy.
 
tough mudder coach
 
Here are some examples of our  twenty to thirty minute Tough Mudder work outs:
 
April 24th Tough Mudder Training
  • Warm-up with a 400m-800m run

Then complete the timed workout below:

    • 400m run while carrying a dumb bell (15-30 lbs)
    • 25 lunges with a dumb bell overhead (15-30 lbs)
    • 400m run
    • 25 toes to bar (see video below)
    • 400m run
    • 50 double-unders (see video below)
    • 400m run
    • 25 dumb bell thrusters (15-30 lbs) (see video below)
  • 400m run
 
June 19th Tough Mudder Training
  • Warm-up with a 400m-800m run
  • Next run a timed 400m run
  • Then 10 min stretch/rest
Then begin the consecutive timed workout below:
    • 400m run
    • 25 kettle bell swings, 25 lbs (see video below)
    • 400m run
    • 25 hand-release pushups (see video below)
      • 400m run
      • 25 thrusters, 25 lbs (see video below)
    • 400m run
    • 25 burpees (see video below)
 
Seriously every work out kicks my booty. I’m hoping with some more consistent training I can finish one Tough Mudder training without wanting to die.
 
If you like this post then you should 100% check out these ones too:
3 Comments

Filed under Fitness

3 responses to “Tough Mudder Training

  1. Pingback: Henricus Dauber Dash | Gypsy Soul

  2. Pingback: Tough Mudder Training #2 | Gypsy Soul

  3. Pingback: Rebel Race DC | Gypsy Soul

Leave a Reply

