Rebel Race DC

Two weekends ago I ran the Rebel Race. With the 105 degree heat and twenty-four obstacles, it was one of the hardest obstacle course runs I’ve tried yet.  The race took place in Monkton, Maryland about an hour and a half outside of D.C. You know I’ve got a few items on my  race grading checklist and organization is one of them. Parking and registration at the Rebel Race were well organized and easy. My only concern was that my car might get get stuck in the field they used for a parking lot. The Cobalt isn’t exactly an off-roading vehicle.

After registration we headed over to the start line.

Rebel Race DC

WARNING: I’m about to go on a race vent.  I’m always a little shocked at how many non-runners are at these obstacle course runs. At the start of our race heat, there was a lady whom was talking about how she just had surgery 6 weeks prior and was nervous about running….but yet she was at the start of the heat.  I know I’m being a bit of a running snob but helllllllo… race protocol! If you aren’t a speedsterr…don’t start at the front.

I don’t like to complain without a recommendation for a change so here’s my two cents.  I think these races should have time requirements for each heat. Then if you run at a 6 minute mile you won’t have to worry about trying to pass someone who runs an 11 minute mile.  I know Brian faced this more than I did, but there was a bit of back up at the obstacles. Each heat was only spaced out by 30 minutes, so if you were running at a decent pace, you definitely caught the peeps in the heat in front of you and possibly from two heats in front of you.

Race vent over.

Okay, back to the race! Like I said, there were supposedly twenty-four obstacles (It felt like more!) Every 5 seconds, it seemed,  I was jumping or climbing over a wall. I think there were 10 walls alone.  Some of the more challenging obstacles were:

  • Climbing over the plywood wall aka the Gamble of Gravity.  I’m pretty darn clumsy, so I really worried about falling off the top of the wall, especially after I saw a guy tumble off the first wall.
  • Going over logs in the muddy water aka Unleashed Endurance. A big thanks to my running buddy for pushing me over each log!
  • Pulling myself over a pond with a rope aka Rebellious Roping. Mainly because it was smelly and there was pondweed that grossed me out.

So remember my rant earlier about non-runners “running” this race. Well, I became one of those non-runners. This is the first race I can remember where I had to walk! This was a tough, tough hillly course. There were just some hills I couldn’t bare to run up. Can you say, karma. That’s what I get for being a complainy bee.

I did manage to finish strong up the last hill, though!  Gotta look goooood for the finish line photos. My final time was 47 minutes on the dot. I even got a medal….which every one got, but whatever.(Sidenote:  Rebel Race made a nice upgrade to their medals from last year.  Way to be Rebel Race!)

Rebecl Race DC 2012

After the race, we waited for about 30 minutes in our rank,  mud covered clothes. With lackluster water pressure and dry crusted mud…it was a little hard to clean off. I didn’t mind though, it just built up my thirst for our free beer. We hung out for a little bit,  enjoyed our beverages, and cheered on the remaining runners. Rebel Race smartly placed the beer tent by the finish line.

maryland rebel race

I know I’ve complained in this post, but I really liked the Rebel Race! The race was a well organized, tough, and I would definitely do it again (after more training of course)!

If you liked this post, check out these too!

Leave a comment

Filed under Fitness

Leave a Reply

