Visiting Coricancha and the Cathedral

Brian and I actually managed to sleep in this day.

Before heading to Peru we had read plenty of hotel reviews, and noticed a few complaints some rooms weren’t heated. Brian and I thought, welp how bad can it be? Cold rooms would be good for snuggling but not so pleasant hopping out of bed in the a.m. Then we got to see it, or rather, feel it first hand .

In our barely 40 degree room, it was certainly hard pulling ourselves out from under our massive down comforters (note the plural). So hard, in fact, we resorted to extreme counter-measures.  CONFESSION: I know this is a huge waste, but when you can see your breath inside your own room,  you resort to desperate measures. Each morning we blasted our shower as hot as it could go and turned our room into a steamy sauna.  It helped some with the bitter cold. I know, I know  it was a huge waste to the environment, but I could get dressed without freezing to death.

Breakfast every morning was around the same temperature  so I stylishly sported my jacket, hat, and mittens. Let me tell ya,  trying to eat with two fingers is pretty hard.

By 11 am or so, Brian and I finally ventured out to visit the Coricancha and Cathedral, two of Cusco’s best landmarks. There’s about 3 different spellings for everything in Peru ( Coricancha, Koricancha, or Quoricancha) which I like because I’m an awful speller… so I just pick my favorite spelling and go with it.

coricancha

The Coricancha was originally a massive Incan Sun Temple filled with a ton of gold. The Spanish tore most of it down and built a church and monastery over its remains. Brian and I enjoyed both types of the architecture, and especially liked the views of the well landscaped courtyard.

qoricancha peru

If you ever visit here, I would recommend skipping the Coricancha Museum. It was generally unimpressive. The best part was reading the english translations which had a ton of spelling and grammatical mistakes.

coricancha

We stopped at a restaurant nearby, Freddy’s,  which wasn’t my favorite  because it was super dark and kinda pricey. They did have great quinoa soup (my new fav) though.

Later that afternoon, we toured the massive Cathedral. One recommendation again if you ever visit here, bypass the tour guides outside. The free headphone-based audio tour was amazing and actually lasted longer than the 20 sole tour offer.

The Cathedral was absolutely stunning. Unfortunately I don’t have any photos to share because they didn’t allow photography. Somehow this blog managed to snap a few if you’d like to take a peek.  Brian and I were baffled at intricate woodwork and silver that decorated every corner of the cathedral. This is a must see when visiting Cusco. My favorite piece was a painting of the Last Super featuring Jesus and the apostles eating a guinea pig.

jesus eating guinea pig

Later on, we walked back up to the Incan ruins at dusk. We heard the sunsets were beautiful over the Andes Mountains and wanted to see for ourselves. Walking up the 5000 stairs again, we were greeted by the guard who warned us about visiting the ruins at this time because there have been incidents of tourists being robbed in the past. We thanked him for the warning and continued walking, willing to take the risk. The women chatting with him gave us a look of horror though. I immediately knew she thought we were crazy… and she was right we I am.

cusco ruins

We found the perfect spot, noshed on our hand-made chocolates, nibbled on a traditional Peruvian snack of cheese and sweet corn,  sipped on wine, and enjoyed the quiet moment to ourselves. I think not being robbed made it more romantic.

That night we decided to be typical tourists and checked out the famous Jack’s Cafe which offered a taste of good ol’ USA. In our whole stay, this was the only place we waited to be seated. Guess Americans just like American-style food. The food was tasty and the company was even better.

We ended the night, enjoying the amazing view of the city from our treehouse room at Tika Wasi.

1 Comment

Filed under Travel

One response to “Visiting Coricancha and the Cathedral

  1. Pingback: Exploring Machu Picchu | Gypsy Soul

Leave a Reply

