Spray Paint File Cabinet

This is a easy-peasy and cheap diy project I completed when we first moved into our apartment.

I found these file cabinets on craigslist for $30. I wanted to spruce them with some paint, so I headed to Home Depot to pick up some Rustoleum  spray paint. I couldn’t decide on color so I chose a few different colors that I liked. At the Home Depot by my office, they actually let you test of the spray paint there. I was just being super indecisive.

Once I got home, I tested out the three colors (againnn) to see how they would look in the area where the file cabinets would be.  I decided to go with the lovely yellow or Summer Squash as Rustoleum named it.  diy file cabinet

I laid down a tarp, had my personal hee-man mover place the file cabinet on top, and then taped the handles and metal place card holder.

I spray painted both of these cabinets inside, but if you have a space I would definitely recommend doing this project outside. Man o man does spray paint smell. Wooweee. Don’t know how  people graffiti with that smell. I was careful to only spray paint the file cabinet, but a mist of paint traveled to our TV stand. Luckily it wiped off pretty easily.


I spray painted the first coat and then waited over night and spray painted a second coat. Then I just painted some index cards to go inside the place card holders.


Ta DA! His and hers file cabinets. Just call me a diy graffiti gansta!!

I may later paint a design on the front of the drawers or use wall paper to cover them (like these here)  but for now they’re just staying summer squash yellow.

Cost:

  • $30 file cabinets
  • 3 cans of spray paint around $10
  • Total: $40
2 Comments

Filed under DIY Projects

2 responses to “Spray Paint File Cabinet

  1. Heather

    Lovely Becca! I saw your pinterest pins and I think I might do something with mine!

Leave a Reply

