Frosty the Snowman Costume

Frosty’s got nothing on this snowflake!

I went on the DC Santa Crawl this past weekend. Most of my friends know I’m really, really into costumes. My one friend even commented, “Becca I think I could invite you over to watch paint dry and if I told you we were wearing costumes, you would come.” So needless to say, the costume was the most important part to me!

I searched around on Pinterest and found this adorable Frosty the Snowman costume here    and here. After seeing these adorable costumes,  I knew immediately I wanted to make my own.

diy tutu

I decided to give a crack at making my own tutu. I searched around and found a few posts describing how to make the tutu and it didn’t seem too too (tu tu 🙂 ) difficult. So here’s the steps…

Supplies:

  • 6-8 yards of white tulle
  • 3/4 elastic (JoAnn Fabrics sells it in a pack)
  • Sharp Scissors

Step 1: Buy Tulle & Elastic

I went to JoAnn Fabrics to buy my supplies. I bought 7 yards of tulle and a pack of 3/4 inches elastic.  Depending on how long you would like your tutu, I would buy 6-8 yards. I had originally planned to just wear tights underneath and wanted my tutu to be medium length so I bought 7 yards.

Step 2: Cut Elastic and strips of tulle

Measure your waist and then add about 8 inches to make sure you have enough to tie the tutu together. I tied a knot 4 inches from the end on each side.

Unto the tulle.  First I measured down my leg to see where I wanted my tutu to hit.   I wanted mine medium length, so I measured about 11 inches down. I added about 1/2 to 1 inch to allow for tying the loop. You will fold over your tulle, so you just double your number. So total my tulle strips were 24 inches long (12 inches folded over).

I cut my tulle about 3 inches wide, but I’ve seen others that cut it as wide as 6 inches. Looking back, if I cut it wider the tutu prob would have taken less time to make.

Step 3: Tying the Tulle

I piled 3 strips of tulle together.  Then made a loop underneath the elastic and pulled the end of the tulle through the loop.  I made sure to pull it tight.  You will repeat this about 100 times going down the elastic.

As you’re working,  I would hold it around your waist to make sure it’s the length you would like. Also, as you get closer to the end I would hold it around your waist again to see if you can stop tying tulle before your knot.

Step 4: Tie the knot

After you have completed all your tulle tying, try it on and tie the knot in the back. I adjusted a few pieces of tulle to make them shorter.

About 4 hours later (more like 1 hr later) ….TA DA! Tutu swirling time!!!

Here are the posts I found online to help.

No-Sew Tutu Making Posts:

snowman_hat

Making your proper topper and coal buttons:

Supplies:

  • 2 sheets of black foam (sparkly)
  • 1-2 fake poinsettias
  • 1 headband
  • Hot glue gun
  • Sharp Scissors

Step 1: Buy your supplies

I went to Michaels to buy my supplies for the hat. You’ll need 2 sheets of black foam ( I chose sparkly foam), 1 -2 small poinsettias (again went with sparkly), and a headband.

Step 2: Make the top part of your hat

Grab a drink cozy. This will be your measuring tool for the top of your top hat. I wrapped the sparkly foam around the cozy, making sure the foam overlapped so I could glue it. Then I used the cozy again to cut the circle for the very top of the hat and also for the three buttons.

Step 3: Make the brim of your hat

Grab a small plate to trace the brim and cut.

Step 4: Glue the pieces together

I glued the top of the top hat together first. Then placed the circle inside the cylinder, and then glued the top to the brim.

Step  5: Glue the flower on

Cut your sparkly poinsettia and glue it to your hat.

Step 6: Glue some more

Then glue the hat to a headband.

And your proper topper is finally complete.

And here’s the full shabang!

This Frosty really had a full day of Holiday cheering at the bar crawl, gift giving at a white elephant party, and then later ice skating in Georgetown.

Exhausted, I literally melted into bed that night.

frosty-the-snowman-costume

frosty the snowman costumeMy twin Frosty!

dc santa bar crawl

dc santa bar crawl

Santa Bar Crawl fun! Check out my friend Antwone’s photos here to view more photos from the bar crawl. He was a hired photographer for the event.

frosty the snow man

Frosty gift-giving at a White Elephant Party.

frosty the snowman

Frosty in her natural environment, ice skating.

Thought I would end with this 🙂 Hearing this song always brings me holiday cheer.

4 Comments

Filed under DIY Projects

4 responses to “Frosty the Snowman Costume

  1. I’m really surprised you and I don’t run into each other at Michael’s and Joanne’s.

    • Haha I know! I’m there quite a bit 🙂 I recently bought some fabric on fabric.com. It seems to be a lot cheaper. Wanted to pass it along in case you wanted to check it out!

  2. Great tutorial, thanks for posting! I will be making this for Santa Con this weekend. How did you attach the buttons to your shirt? Did you just glue them on?

Leave a Reply

