Puerto Morelos Preview

two days till mexico

Only 2 days till we leave for Mexico! Work and life have been pretty stressful lately and I couldn’t be more ready for some sunshine and relaxation.  My mom will be traveling along with Brian and I for her first trip out of the country!  Travel brings me so much joy and I’m excited to share this trip with her and Sunshine (aka Brian).

We booked this trip through cheapcaribbean.com. Cheap Carribbean allowed us to book an all inclusive resort package that included our flights. I must say, it was nice to book everything together, and I’m excited that when we arrive most of the cost is already covered! Cheap Caribbean also allows you to make payments on the trip.  We paid for the flights on our trip when we booked and then made payments to pay for the rest.

We’re staying the at the Hotel Marina El Cid located in the Riviera Maya region. Our resort is located in a nicer resort area about 40 minutes south of Cancun. So lucky for us, we won’t be partying with any spring breakers even though my mom would love to (jk 😉 )

I can’t wait to test out the complimentary activities at our hotel like windsurfing, kayaking, self guided snorkeling, and maybe some yoga. Puerto Morelos, the little town our resort is in,  is supposed to have some of the best dive spots in the area!

Don’t worry, I plan to take full advantage of the  pool  and poolside service! A pina colada will permanently sit in my right hand.

pina colada Looks about right!

Brian and I consulted our trusty moon book to pick a few guided activities. We can’t sit still for too long (ya’ll know that)!  While staying here we plan to mark off another new world wonder and visit Chichen Itza, explore ik kil cenote,  and go on a guided snorkel trip.

Chichen Itza Mexico Chichen Itza, meaning “at the mouth of the Itza well”, is a Mayan City on the Yucatan Peninsula in Mexico, between Valladolid and Merida. It was established before the period of Christopher Colombus and probably served as the religion center of Yucatan for a while.

ik kil cenote The Maya believed natural wells, such as the Ik Kil  cenote in Mexico’s Yucatán, led to the underworld.

diving in cancun Really hope I get to see one of these!

Now somehow I just have to convince myself to pack sooner than 11 pm the night before the trip! Maybe I’ll pick up a new dress and a bathing suit to provide some motivation. Always easier to pack clothes when you just have to take them out of the shopping bag and put them in your suit case!

Buenas Noches!

Leave a comment

Filed under Travel

Leave a Reply

