Shake it like a Polaroid Coaster

DIY Polaroid Coasters!

My DIY projects have been slacking lately, so I thought I would share one I made a while ago.

For Brian’s 30th birthday this year, I decided to give him 30 presents to celebrate every year of his wonderful life. I figured I needed to take the edge off of him turning into an old geezer 🙂

It was really fun picking out things I knew he loved. I chose some small items like pez dispensers,  running socks, rollos, and even these apple pie pastries that I loathe but he loves. I added in a few coupons like not washing the dishes for a week (yes, Brian does the dishes and that’s just one of the 23472340 reasons I luuuuuv him), and then one big ticket item like scuba lessons!

30 birthday gifts

I wanted to make at least one of the 30 presents, so I decided to make photo coasters.   Here is where i got this great idea:

 

This project looked simple enough,  and I thought it would be a great way to display some more of our travel photos. You know we love to travel and when we’re not traveling we’re thinking about traveling.

What you’ll need:

  • 4 white tiles from Home Depot. The ones used for bathroom tiling.
  • 2 sheets of foam from Michaels
  • Mod Podge from Michaels
  • Sponge brush from Michaels to apply the mod podge glue
  • Hot glue gun and glue

Step 1 for diy polaroid coasters:

Cut the photo to fit onto the tile. You will want to cut so there is a .25 inch border on three sides of the picture and about 1 inch on the bottom.

polaroid coaster

Step 2 for diy polaroid coasters:

Cut the foam the same size as the tile and then glue on using a hot glue gun. polaroid coaster diy polaroid coaster

Step 3 for diy polaroid coasters:

Once the hot glue has dried on the bottom, glue the photo onto the tile using mod podge. Once the photo is in place, cover the whole front of the tile with mod podge. This will create a seal to protect your photo.

polaroid coaster diy polaroid coaster

That’s all! I made two to start and still need to pick two more photos to make the other two coasters.  Now every time we have a drink, we’re reminded of two of our awesome trips. The picture to the left is from our trip to Maui and the one on the right is from our trip to Peru.

diy polaroid coaster

Also I’ve seen a few people make these into magnets.  You would need to buy smaller tiles for that project.

Here are all the birthday presents for Brian! Good thing 40 is 10 years away 🙂

30 birthday gifts

What cool presents have you given your beau? Did you DIY anything?

Leave a comment

Filed under DIY Projects

Leave a Reply

