DC Earthquake: All Shook Up

Thankful Tuesdays

Today I experienced my second earthquake while living in D.C. (also my second earthquake ever).  My first quake encounter happened last June during the wee hours of the morning and awoke me from a deep slumber. I’m known to have pretty vivid dreams so the next day I actually googled it to confirm the quake was a reality.

Today those same thoughts ran through my mind, “Is this real?”

As I diligently worked away at my desk (as any good employee would) I suddenly felt a little rumble and thought I was imagining my whole office shaking.  Immediately though, my survival instincts kicked in and I jumped underneath the nearest door frame…that’s what you’re supposed to do right? Give me a break, I’m from the east coast.

After the 45 second shake, I walked into our office lobby and everyone seemed to be in a daze. They too were seeking confirmation that yes that was an earthquake, and looking for answers on what to do next. As an east coast native I haven’t had an earthquake drill since high school, so I just followed the crowd and walked outside.

Later on, winding back down at my desk while refreshing the Washington Post’s webpage, I was thankful for all the texts and phone calls from my family and friends making sure I was okay. Most importantly though, I was thankful they were also just fine.

Driving home I enjoyed listening to all the earthquake themed country songs the witty radio station played like, Luke Bryan’s “Shake it for me, girl” and Neal McCoy’s “The Shake”.

The only tragedy of the day….

“Bertrum the Bear” tragically fell off my bed. I know, I know, it’s almost unbearable to look at the photo.

Bertrum the Bear after DC earthquake

Aftermath of D.C. Earthquake!

Don’t worry, with a few hugs he was as good as new.

To end on a safety note here is a link for what to do before, during, and after an earthquake just in case another ever hits D.C.

Leave a comment

Filed under D.C. Earthquake, D.C. Earthquake, Thankful Tuesdays, Washington D.C.

Leave a comment